The Five Love Languages

the five love languagesTi amo…je t’aime…ich liebe dich…we know people say, “I love you” in many ways. However, did you know people love differently? According to Dr. Gary Chapman, there are five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.

By learning and understanding these love language, you can enhance your communication skills and bond with others. That will not only help you in romantic relationships, but it can also improve your interactions with family members, coworkers, or friends.

Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If your partner’s love language is Words of Affirmation, it will mean the world to them to hear you say the words “I love you”. Compliments such as a “thank you”, or “I appreciate you did that”, can make your partner feel loved and truly valued. Words can build up the other person. People with this love language need to hear you say the words.

Quality Time

Do you covet Quality TIme? Then nothing will say, “I love you” louder than your partner’s full, undivided attention.  That means no cell phone, TV, or any other distractions. It can also include taking a walk together, preparing dinner together, talking, snuggling, or sharing plans for the future. During this time, make your partner feel truly treasured and special. Remember, time is priceless, and it is something you can’t buy or ever get back.

Receiving Gifts

Do not mistake the Receiving Gifts love language for materialism. The receiver of the gifts thrives on the love, effort, and thoughtfulness behind the gift. An ideal gift shows that you know, care, and understand your partner. It means they are highly prized over whatever was sacrificed to get the gift. A simple gift like a pint of their favorite ice cream can make a significant impact.

Acts of Service

Doing something that can ease the burden of responsibility speaks volumes. According to Chapman, chores such as vacuuming the floors, walking the dog, and making breakfast in bed, indicates you care about your partner and your life together. Those who have the love language of Acts of Service will be over the moon that you thought in advance, took time, and made an effort to please them.

Physical Touch

Unsurprisingly, a person whose love language is Physical Touch is very touchy (not necessarily over-the-top PDA). Simple hugs, hand-holding, and back massages will show concern and love. When done in a loving and not oppressive atmosphere, physical touch will heal, calm, and reassure your partner that they are adored.

Bottom Line

Knowing the five love languages can help you appreciate your relationship and create a stronger bond. It allows you to express your needs to your partner while also understanding ways of making them feel loved in return.

What’s your love language? Let us know in the comments. Take the quiz.

Video credit: Gary Chapman| YouTube

If you would like to send financial support, please give back to Virgo Philosophy here. Or send money to our Cash App: $MIHMedia. No amount is too little. We are thankful for every dollar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *